Archive for January 1, 2008

Do You Take Pitbulls?

Really Scary

I got a phone call today from a nice woman who had two, young bull-breed dogs she wanted to enroll in my beginning obedience class.  She sounded nervous and hesitant as she asked if I would take them in the class.

 “Well” I responded, “there will have to be two humans there to work with them during class.”  She replied that that wasn’t a problem, her husband would come with her.  Then she went on to say how relieved she was that I would take these dogs in my class.  I asked her a few more questions about the dogs (something I do with every potential client who calls) and none of my ‘trick the dog owner’ questions resulted in answers that worried me.

Are there really dog trainers out there who don’t accept ANY bull-breed dogs in their classes?  Maybe I’m old-fashioned, but I don’t understand how anyone who calls themselves a professional dog trainer can do that.  I expect a professional dog trainer to know enough about dogs to understand that the propaganda put out by narrow-minded proponents of breed-specific legislation is largely over-blown hyperbole.  I also expect that someone who accepts money for their dog-training advice has enough skill to handle difficult dogs in class.

But then, maybe I’m just old-fashioned.

January 1, 2008 at 2:00 am 6 comments


Because A Dog’s Mind is a Terrible Thing to Waste

RSS

Copyright notice

All original content on this Web site is copyright © on the date of publication by this author. All rights reserved except, of course, that others may quote from original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of US copyright law.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 284 other subscribers

RSS New Stuff in our Library

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Top Clicks

  • None
Top Dog Blog
Featured in Alltop
ResearchBlogging.org

sitemeter

Add to Technorati Favorites
Dog Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
blogarama - the blog directory
Blog Directory
Blog Directory & Search engine
January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031