October is…

October 23, 2010 at 12:12 pm 20 comments

Book month and adopt-a-dog month.

To celebrate we’re giving away three books donated by Hachette Book Group.

  • How to be Your Dog’s Best Friend by the Monks of New Skete. One of the classic books on dog training and one I’ve recommended to many people. I agreed to do the give-away specifically because Hachette included this book in the group.
  • Dog Tags by David Rosenfelt. Rosenfelt writes dog-themed legal-thrillers. I read very little fiction these days, so can’t offer any advice on this one. If you win the drawing and send a review, I’ll be glad to post it. 
  • GoD and DoG by Wendy Francisco. I’m not a religious person, haven’t read the book and am not likely to – but the youtube video that inspired it recently generated a lot among my friends in the English Shepherd world so I thought it was appropriate to include it here.

If you’d like to enter the drawing leave a comment below. Make sure you include your real email address as that is how I’ll contact the winner. The winner will be chosen by a drawing to be conducted by the OddMan. Entries close Wednesday October 27, 2010.

The books will be sent to the winner directly by Hachette Book Group. I am receiving nothing  (other than a wee bit of blog-fodder) for posting this.

Entry filed under: books, dogs. Tags: .

Have you evolved? Beautiful and yet…

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. YesBiscuit  |  October 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    First!

  • 2. ruthcrisler  |  October 23, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    My copy of the Monks dates from the seventies. Still holds up, but would love to acquire a current edition.

    Of course, I’d still have to confront the fact that I have not enough time to read much. Nor enough time to write as much as I’d like. Nor get sufficient sleep. Nor cook like I used to. Nor ride my horse.

    Damn those kids, cute as they are. They just don’t raise themselves.

  • 3. Lorraine Hickman  |  October 23, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Hi, Janeen. Miss you very much, and love your website.

  • 4. Kari  |  October 23, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    ooo those books sound great! We want in :)

    Kari

    http://dogisgodinreverse.com/

  • 5. Vladdie  |  October 23, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    I was very touched by the “GoD and DoG” video so count me in for the drawing!

  • 6. Shelley Thurmond  |  October 23, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Please enter me in the drawing.

    And thank you again, Janeen for having volunteered a year ago to help little Charlie to recover and to live as a normal, happy dog. I think of him often and am grateful you were/are there for him.

  • 7. David W  |  October 23, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    I’d like to enter as well.

  • 8. Meg  |  October 23, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    I would like to enter, please.

  • 9. Erin  |  October 23, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    Hi Janeen, what a cool idea. And thanks for doing this, and please include my name in the drawing.

  • 10. shirley  |  October 23, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    these books would give me something to do other than watch krull online on a saturday night, i gotta win!!

  • 11. michele C  |  October 24, 2010 at 7:17 am

    God and Dog goes to any dog lovers heart, not that the others aren’t great books, but this one is exceptionally meaningful. What a wonderful idea!

  • 12. Nancy  |  October 24, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Love books! Shelby, Gracie, Louie, and Mama Faith think I need more book learning-

  • 13. Chas Clifton  |  October 24, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    I have watched some of the monks’ videos, and I see them as good, middle-of-the-road trainers. Did pick up the trick of pointing at my eye and saying “Watch me!” from them, but with my food-obsessed Chessie, holding a dog biscuit next to my eye works better.

  • 14. CarolG.  |  October 24, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I would also like to enter. I don’t own any of the books although I have read the Monks back when it came out.

  • 15. Kristen Wyatt  |  October 24, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    I would love to be included in the drawing…thanks!!!

  • 16. Anissa  |  October 24, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Please include me in the drawing. Thanks!

  • 17. Dani  |  October 25, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Please include me in the drawing. I have read the Monks book from the library, but I would love to own a copy. The other two books just sound fun! Thanks!

  • 18. Liz  |  October 25, 2010 at 11:08 am

    I’d like to enter, thanks!

  • 19. Chris  |  October 26, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Love reading your blog! Thanks for the entertainment.

  • 20. Kristen Wyatt  |  November 5, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Did I miss the anouncement of a winner?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Because A Dog’s Mind is a Terrible Thing to Waste

RSS

Copyright notice

All original content on this Web site is copyright © on the date of publication by this author. All rights reserved except, of course, that others may quote from original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of US copyright law.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 275 other followers

Top Dog Blog
Featured in Alltop
ResearchBlogging.org

sitemeter

Add to Technorati Favorites
Dog Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
blogarama - the blog directory
Blog Directory
Blog Directory & Search engine
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 275 other followers

