Life Less Complicated

April 26, 2008 at 12:25 am 7 comments

My life became less complicated today.

I don’t need to take extra time to make sure that I’ve place non-skid rugs in strategic locations around the house.

I don’t need to make daily checks of four or more medications to ensure that the proper types and dosages are given.  I don’t need to make sure that I have syringes on hand and I don’t have to carefully monitor everything my dogs eat to prevent allergic reactions.

I don’t have to be hypervigilant in looking for early symptoms of seizures, allergic reactions and other health crises.

We don’t need a ramp at the front door anymore.

An awful lot of the responsibilities (and expenses) that have weighed me down for the last six months vanished in just a single afternoon.

And my heart is broken.

Zorro, who’s been my friend and working partner of the last nine years, was released today from the pain of one too many health problems.  He cheerfully survived epilipsy, Addison’s disease, laryngeal paralysis and Leonberger polyneuropathy only to be taken down by osteosarcoma.  Bone cancer.  The evil scourge of giant breed dogs. 

Zorro had an utterly indomitable will.  He was the most joyful — and the most driven dog I have ever known.  This made him both the most difficult and the most entertaining dog I’ve ever owned.  When he really wanted something, nothing would hold him back.  His fire burned white hot.

Even though I’ve known for a while that this was coming, it still feels like a sudden shock.  He had such an enormous presence….  the house just echoes with emptiness.

Its going to take a while to get used to these simpler, and much less colorful, times without my old friend.

Entry filed under: dog, dogs, health. Tags: .

The Key to Early Disease Detection Lemons

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah Regan Snavely  |  April 26, 2008 at 1:06 am

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

    Been there. Tough.

  • 2. Andrew  |  April 26, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    The boys and I will say prayers for you and for Zorro. He was obviously loved — and giving him a dignified way to the next life was the last act of love you could have given.

    He’ll be waiting for you with a smile on his face.

    all best wishes
    A+M+M+J

  • 3. wardogmarine  |  April 26, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    I know exactly where you are coming from.

    http://k9pride.wordpress.com

  • 4. Renee  |  April 27, 2008 at 12:04 am

    Sadness goes out to you Janeen…the long haired Chihuahua will be very missed in June. Hugs to you and the dogs!

  • 5. Caveat  |  April 27, 2008 at 3:09 am

    It’s hard to lose any dog but the special ones always take a piece of us with them.

    You did well by the old fellow as he did by you.

    Hugs and sympathy from your friends in Ontario.

  • 6. Luisa  |  April 27, 2008 at 4:21 am

    Oh, Janeen, I’m so sorry.

    When my senior dog was ailing Bill Fosher wrote, “A wise friend told me when Molly was going through an episode of vestibular syndrome to watch her closely. I assumed at first, she meant to make sure nothing else was going on, but then she explained:

    ‘These old dogs will teach you to accept disability with grace.’”

    Sounds like you and Zorro were blessed to have each other. Hugs from SoCal –

    Luisa

  • 7. Kristi Knutsen  |  April 28, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Ahh Janeen, I’m so sorry for your loss. Zorro was an awesome guy. Lulu and my thoughts will be with you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Because A Dog’s Mind is a Terrible Thing to Waste

RSS

Copyright notice

All original content on this Web site is copyright © on the date of publication by this author. All rights reserved except, of course, that others may quote from original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of US copyright law.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 275 other followers

Top Dog Blog
Featured in Alltop
ResearchBlogging.org

sitemeter

Add to Technorati Favorites
Dog Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
blogarama - the blog directory
Blog Directory
Blog Directory & Search engine
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 275 other followers

