Do You Take Pitbulls?

January 1, 2008 at 2:00 am 6 comments

Really Scary

I got a phone call today from a nice woman who had two, young bull-breed dogs she wanted to enroll in my beginning obedience class.  She sounded nervous and hesitant as she asked if I would take them in the class.

 “Well” I responded, “there will have to be two humans there to work with them during class.”  She replied that that wasn’t a problem, her husband would come with her.  Then she went on to say how relieved she was that I would take these dogs in my class.  I asked her a few more questions about the dogs (something I do with every potential client who calls) and none of my ‘trick the dog owner’ questions resulted in answers that worried me.

Are there really dog trainers out there who don’t accept ANY bull-breed dogs in their classes?  Maybe I’m old-fashioned, but I don’t understand how anyone who calls themselves a professional dog trainer can do that.  I expect a professional dog trainer to know enough about dogs to understand that the propaganda put out by narrow-minded proponents of breed-specific legislation is largely over-blown hyperbole.  I also expect that someone who accepts money for their dog-training advice has enough skill to handle difficult dogs in class.

But then, maybe I’m just old-fashioned.

Entry filed under: bsl, bull breeds, dog training, dogs, pet, pets, pit bull, pit bulls, pitbull, pitbulls. Tags: , , , , , , .

Don’t Shoot Me! The Best Pet First Aid Kit

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. CeliaSue  |  January 1, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Thank you for being old-fashioned ! Last night I saw another one of those overblown ‘news’ stories about a pit bull attacking kids.. did not say what really happened, of course. My dog is a Dalmatian mixed with pit and 99.99999% of people just love her for being the sweetest loving playful girl that she is and then there are those are act afraid of her just because of her looks.

    that is called racism and it’s bigotry against certain dogs… and the truth is that behind the stories is ignorance and owners who are cruel and inhumane and greedy (like Michael Vick) who should never EVER own or go anywhere near dogs. Why don’t they outlaw cruel owners????

    and I have to say as a reporter/professional writer, I know that there is bias in the media and what bleeds leads, and the media censors stories all the time, perhaps I will start a good news paper about good dogs… pit bulls, rottweilers, dobermans, etc.

    Anyway, thank you for this ray of sunshine….

    Sue

    http://celiasue.wordpress.com/

  • 2. 4urpets  |  January 1, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    My daughter has the sweetest, gentlest pit bull (She calls her a American Staffordshire Terrier) named Mama. Mama is so gentle, she barely barks. She thinks she is a little lap dog.

    I heard that dogs are a product of their owners, and behave the way their owners want them.

    I also heard that pit bulls are very very good with people, but hate other dogs. Mama loves to play with other dogs.

  • 3. Annalissa  |  January 1, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Janeen,

    I can’t agree more. How does one call themselves a professional dog trainer, but is then selective about what breeds to train? We just had something similar to that happen to us. A family called us with a dog to dog aggressive pit bull, and couldn’t find anyone to work with them/her. We took her into our residency program a little over a week ago. Fri I had her walking in the pasture with one of my dogs. We are actually blogging her story at http://www.thatsmydog.com

    Have a safe and happy new year, and keep changing lives, one dog at a time.

    ~Annalissa

  • 4. elsie  |  January 16, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Im so happy that you have chosen to treat all breeds equally. I have a pit bull puppy named BamBam and hes the cutest thing ever. Ive changed a lot of peoples minds about these dogs. Im usually running from a chihuahua not a pitbull. lol. Unfortunately there are still people who discriminate…I was rejected for an apartment just because I told them i would be getting a staffordshire terrier…

  • 5. ed  |  February 5, 2008 at 4:11 am

    also thanks for not being selective,now,with no disrespect to the others here,an american pitbull terrier is not an amstaff,nor is it a staff,or even a half breed,it is a breed that needs a responsable owner,a professional trainer should respect a pit owner who wants their dog under control.that is what all the old time pit men knew.

  • 6. SmartDogs  |  February 5, 2008 at 4:21 am

    Thank you .for that

    Bull breed dogs are not, in many respects, like other breeds. They ARE more prone to dog-dog aggression. But – as a professional trainer who accepts people’s money to help them with problem dogs, I feel that one must be prepared to deal with these issues.

    Or get out of the field.

    I see lots of bull breeds. I love them – and respect them.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Because A Dog’s Mind is a Terrible Thing to Waste

RSS

Copyright notice

All original content on this Web site is copyright © on the date of publication by this author. All rights reserved except, of course, that others may quote from original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of US copyright law.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 265 other followers

Top Dog Blog
Featured in Alltop
ResearchBlogging.org

sitemeter

Add to Technorati Favorites
Dog Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
blogarama - the blog directory
Blog Directory
Blog Directory & Search engine
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

